Notaries are important because they serve as impartial witnesses to the signing of important documents.
If you’re looking to become a notary in Minnesota, there are a few things you need to know. The process is relatively simple and only requires a few steps, so if you’re interested in becoming a notary, read on!
What are the requirements to become a notary in Minnesota?
To become a notary in Minnesota, you must:
- not held a commission that has expired. If your commission has expired, you must check the “Re-appointment ” box on the application.
- fill out the Notary Application and send it in the mail.
- submit a non-refundable fee of $120.
- pay by check or money order. Make the check or money order out to the OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE.
- be at least 18 years old.
- be a resident of Minnesota or a county in Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota or Wisconsin. You will need to list the Minnesota county where you will file when you get your commission.
How do I become a notary in Minnesota?
- Make sure you meet the requirements listed in the last section.
- Fill out the Notary Application and mail it to the Minnesota Secretary of State.
- You must pay a $120.00 fee when you file your application.
- To complete the registration process, the Minnesota notary must pay a $20 filing fee and present their commission with an accompanying signature that matches their full name to the registrar’s office of residence. Additionally, they must provide a sample signature to perform all future notarial acts.
- To become a notary public in Minnesota, nonresidents must pay the $20 filing fee and register with the local registrar of their designated county. During registration, they will be required to provide (a) their notary commission; (b) a signature that matches the full name on the commission; and (c) an example of how they plan to sign off on documents during notarial acts.
How long does a Minnesota Notary commission last?
A Minnesota notary commission lasts for five years.
How much does it cost to become a notary in Minnesota?
There is a $120 application fee and a $20 filing fee for a total of $140.
To become a notary, you must purchase a notary seal and, optionally, a notary journal.
This can range from $15-$25 for the notary stamp to $10-$50 for your notary journal – depending on what type of product you choose and where it is purchased.
Is notary training required to become a notary in Minnesota?
No, there is no training requirement to become a notary in Minnesota.
However, it is recommended that all notaries take a notary education course to ensure they are familiar with the laws and regulations governing their office.
Is a notary exam required to become a notary in Minnesota?
No, there is no exam requirement to become a notary in Minnesota.
Is a surety bond required to become a notary in Minnesota?
No Minnesota has no surety bond requirement to become a notary.
Is a notary errors and omissions insurance policy required to become a notary in Minnesota?
No, Minnesota does not require a notary errors and omissions insurance policy.
However, it is highly recommended that all notaries purchase such a policy to protect themselves from any potential liabilities that may occur while performing their duties.
Do I need to purchase a notary stamp in Minnesota?
Yes, you must have a notary stamp in Minnesota.
Is a notary journal required in Minnesota?
No, a notary journal is not required by the state of Minnesota.
However, it is highly recommended by the Minnesota Secretary of State that all notaries purchase and maintain a record of each notarial act they perform to protect themselves against any potential liability issues.
How long does it take to be a notary in MN?
Completing the Notary Public commission can take up to four weeks, depending on your availability and how quickly the Secretary of State processes your application and mails out your certificate.
What is the process to renew my commission as a Minnesota Notary?
Minnesota notaries can apply for a new commission six months before their old one expires.
The new commission will last for five years.
If the notary’s old commission has already expired, they must fill out a new application and check the box that says ‘re-appointment.’ Then they must mail it in.
After renewing their commission, they will need to get a new notary stamp that shows the five-year extension.
Can a Minnesota notary notarize in Wisconsin?
No, conducting notarial acts outside of the state in which you are commissioned is prohibited. A Minnesota Notary cannot notarize documents in Wisconsin or any other state.
Can I perform remote online notarizations in Minnesota?
Yes, Minnesota has adopted remote online notarization (RON) legislation.
This allows a qualified notary to perform notarial acts securely over the internet, provided they adhere to the rules and regulations outlined by state law.
To perform become a remote online notary public in Minnesota, a remote online notary must first be a traditional notary, meet specific technology requirements, and submit a secondary application and fee.
What fees can Minnesota Notaries charge per notarization?
Minnesota notaries can charge a maximum fee of $5 per traditional notarization and $25 for each remote online notarization.
How much do notaries make in Minnesota?
According to ZipRecruiter, the average annual pay of a Minnesota notary is $55,347. According to the same site, the average annual pay of a notary who becomes a Notary Signing Agent is $93,200, with the highest being $249,635.1
How do I become a notary signing agent in Minnesota?
To become a Notary Signing Agent in Minnesota, you must first be an active notary. The state also requires that signing agents must be licensed closing agents, which is an additional state license.
Additionally, you should complete a training and certification program. Once these steps are completed, you will receive certification and can begin working as a Notary Signing Agent in the state.