Are you looking to become a notary in Rhode Island?
If so, then you’ve come to the right place!
Becoming certified as a Notary Public involves taking essential steps to protect your official documents – and, most importantly, those who need them.
With this guide, we will walk you through everything necessary to become a notary in Rhode Island: from understanding its rules and regulations to completing the application process efficiently.
Continue as we explore the requirements for getting your commission started and becoming an official Notary Public in one of America’s smallest states!
Who can become a Rhode Island notary public?
To become a Notary Public in Rhode Island, you must be:
- At least eighteen years old
- A United States citizen or permanent legal resident
- A resident of or have a place of employment or practice in Rhode Island
- Able to read and write English
- Not disqualified to receive a commission under Rhode Island’s notary laws
- Demonstrate sufficient notary knowledge of the powers and duties of a notary public.
- An attorney in good standing applying as a member of the RI Bar Association or a certified public accountant in good standing applying as a certified Rhode Island licensee
How do I become a notary in RI?
The following are the steps to becoming a Rhode Island notary public if you meet all of the requirements above:
Step 1: Take the online Notary Knowledge Assessment exam.
Step 2: Complete and print the online Rhode Island notary application form.
Step 3: Take the application to a Rhode Island notary public to take your oath of office.
Step 4: Mail the application to the RI Department of State (Rhode Island Department of State) along with an $80 application fee.
Is notary training required to become a notary in Rhode Island?
No, notary training is not required to become a Rhode Island notary. However, it is recommended that you read the Rhode Island Notary Public Manual and become familiar with notarial duties.
Is a notary exam required to become a notary in Rhode Island?
Yes, the Notary Knowledge Assessment exam is required for notary applicants in Rhode Island. This allows applicants to demonstrate sufficient knowledge to perform notarial acts.
Is a notary surety bond required to become a Rhode Island notary ?
No, a surety bond is not required to become a Rhode Island Notary Public.
Is a notary errors and omissions insurance policy required to become a notary in Rhode Island?
No, an Errors and Omissions insurance policy is not required to become a Rhode Island Notary Public. However, consider obtaining such a policy as an added layer of protection.
Does RI require a notary stamp for notarial acts?
Yes, Rhode Island requires a notary to have an official seal or stamp. The official seal or stamp must be used each time the notary performs his or her duties.
Does Rhode Island require a notary journal?
No, Rhode Island does not require a notary to keep a journal or log of his or her performances. However, keeping an accurate record of the details associated with each notarial act is strongly recommended.
How much does it cost to become a notary in Rhode Island?
Applying for a Notary Public commission requires an $80 fee.
As a Rhode Island Notary Public, you must acquire some Rhode Island notary supplies. While the cost of these materials will vary depending on which brands and types you opt for, a rubber Rhode Island notary stamp should be approximately $15 to $25, whereas a notarial journal (which is not required by law but recommended by state officials) can set you back anywhere between ten to fifty dollars.
Don’t forget about pens, sticky notes, and refilling ink for your notary seal when making your purchases!
How long is the term of a notary public commission in Rhode Island?
A Notary Public commission in Rhode Island is valid for four years.
How do I renew my notary in RI?
As a courtesy, the Rhode Island Secretary of State will send you your renewal notice two months prior to the expiration date of your commission.
To ensure that you keep your original expiration day and month, complete and return the application before that date.
However, if submitted after this due date, then there is potential for a new notary commission expiration date to be set for you.
Once your application for renewal is complete, you will receive a new certificate in the mail. Applications submitted more than two months before your current certificate expires will not be processed.
Can I perform remote online notarization in Rhode Island?
Rhode Island Notaries now have the opportunity to register and conduct remote online notarization.
How much can a Rhode Island notaries charge for notary services?
Notaries may charge $5 Rhode Island notary fees for a traditional notary act and $25 for remote online notarizations.
How much does a notary make in Rhode Island?
According to ZipRecruiter, the average annual pay of a traditional Rhode Island notary is $57,573. According to the same site, the average annual pay of a notary who becomes a Notary Signing Agent is $106,341, with the highest being $197,606.1
How do I become a signing agent in RI?
To become a signing agent in Rhode Island, you must have a current Notary Public commission and be knowledgeable about real-estate documents. You should also obtain additional training and a signing agent certification. Additionally, it would be best if you looked into obtaining Errors and Omissions insurance to protect yourself against potential liability. All of these requirements can be fulfilled through reputable notary training companies.