Are you in North Carolina and looking to become a Notary?
If so, this step-by-step guide will take you through obtaining the necessary credentials to become a person authorized to perform notarial acts.
Becoming a Notary is essential, as it requires trustworthiness and attention to detail when witnessing any document or swearing in anyone who wants their signature formally recognized by law.
It’s a rewarding endeavor that can also offer a financial reward! Follow along with this how-to guide for everything you need to know to become licensed by the state of North Carolina and embark on your journey as an official Notary Public.
Let’s get started!
What are the eligibility requirements to become a North Carolina notary public?
If you’d like to become a notary public in North Carolina, then these qualifications must be met:
- Be at least 18 years old or legally emancipated.
- Reside or have a regular place of work or business in the state of North Carolina.
- Legally reside in the United States.
- Be able to speak, read, and write English.
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent.
- Pass the notary public course, unless the person is a licensed member of the North Carolina State Bar.
- Purchase and keep as a reference the most recent manual approved by the North Carolina Department of the Secretary of State that describes the duties and authority of notaries so that you know the North Carolina law. This is sometimes referred to as the notary public guidebook.
What disqualifies you from being a North Carolina notary public?
There are some reasons a person may be disqualified from obtaining a notary public commission in North Carolina.
- Submit an application containing a significant misstatement or omission of fact.
- Been convicted of a felony or crime involving moral turpitude that has become final unless a pardon or certificate of restoration of citizenship rights has been granted.
How do I get a notary license in NC?
Here are the application procedures to become a North Carolina notary public.
- Complete the state-required notary public course at your local community college.
- Pass an approved examination administered by the North Carolina Secretary of State with a score of at least 80% unless you are already licensed as a North Carolina Bar attorney.
- You must submit your application within three months of the course conclusion and ensure it is notarized. Additionally, for a first-time applicant to be accepted, their notary course instructor must sign and date the form accordingly. A $50 fee is required.
- After you receive the oath notification letter, head to your local register of deeds within 45 days from when it was issued to take an official oath. The fee for this is only ten dollars. The register of deeds with provide you with your notary commission certificate, and you’ll be allowed to perform notary services.
Is notary training required to become a North Carolina notary public?
Yes, notary training classroom instruction is required to become a notary in North Carolina.
You must complete an approved six-hour course.
Is a notary exam required to become a North Carolina notary public?
Yes, a notary exam is required to become a notary in North Carolina.
Exam applicants must achieve an 80% score or higher to pass the exam and be issued a notary public commission.
Is a notary bond required to become a North Carolina notary public?
No, a notary surety bond is not required to become a notary in North Carolina.
Is a notary errors and omissions insurance policy required to become a North Carolina notary?
No, a notary errors and omissions insurance policy is not required to become a notary in North Carolina.
However, it is highly recommended that all notaries obtain an E&O policy to protect them against potential financial losses and legal fees due to negligence or mistakes made in the performance of their duties.
Is a notary stamp required for North Carolina notaries public?
Yes, a notary stamp is required for all North Carolina notaries.
Is a notary journal required in North Carolina notaries public?
No, a notary journal is not required in North Carolina.
However, it is highly recommended that all North Carolina notaries maintain their own personal record of the official acts they perform. This can be done by keeping a log book or electronic records.
How long does it take to become a notary in North Carolina?
Upon submitting a complete and accurate application, it should take no more than two weeks for its processing.
How much does it cost to become a notary in North Carolina?
The fee for the state commission is a flat rate of $50.
As a North Carolina Notary Public, you must buy some necessary items for notarization.
The cost of these materials will depend on the quality and brands you purchase; however, your rubber North Carolina notary stamp should be within the $15 to $25 range, while a recommended non-mandatory notarial journal could set you back from ten to fifty dollars.
While making those purchases, remember handy pens, sticky notes, and refill ink for your official seal!
How long is the term of a notary public commission in North Carolina?
A notary public commission in North Carolina is valid for a term of five years.
What is required to renew a notary commission in NC?
To ensure a smooth renewal process, begin the application no later than 10 weeks before your commission expires. It is essentially identical to the initial Notary procedure.
How can I become an Electronic Notary in North Carolina?
An electronic notarization uses digital documents and electronic signatures, but the person signing and the Notary still have to meet in person.
You must first be an NC Notary Public. Then, you’ll need to take a three-hour course at a local community college, pass the exam and register online. You’ll need to print the form and get it notarized. Bring the form to the Department of the Secretary of State with a $50 registration fee.
You will get a letter from the Department. It will say that you need to take an oath of office at the local county Register of Deeds within 45 days. The register will give you a certificate. You need the certificate to get an eNotary signature and seal.
Does North Carolina allow remote online notarization?
No, North Carolina does not allow remote online notarization (notarizations over webcam) at this time.
How much can a North Carolina notary charge to perform notarial acts?
As a Notary in North Carolina, you are restricted to charging customers no more than $10 per notarization. Additionally, you are prohibited from charging your signers for any travel or mileage expenses.
How much do notary publics make in NC?
According to ZipRecruiter, the average annual pay of a traditional North Carolina notary is $40,904. According to the same site, the average annual pay of a notary who becomes a Notary Signing Agent is $80,389, with the highest being $151,600.1
Can a Notary Carolina notary be a Notary Signing Agent?
Yes, a Notary Public in North Carolina may become a Notary Signing Agent if they have an active notary public commission.
Signings for properties in North Carolina require attorney involvement, but a notary signing agent can form a lucrative business conducting signings for properties in other states.
Additionally, the Notary Signing Agent should complete a specialized training course and receive certification. Once certified, they can offer their services to lenders and title companies for loan closings.