If you want to become a notary in Kansas, you’ve come to the right place.
Becoming a Kansas notary is easier than you think and can be pretty rewarding.
Whether you’re just starting or have been considering becoming a notary for some time now, this blog post will provide you with all the information and steps necessary to obtain your Kansas Notary commission.
Here, we’ll explain the process step by step so aspiring notaries can succeed along their path into the field of official document signing!
Requirements to be a Notary in Kansas
To have the privilege of becoming a notary in Kansas, one must meet these requirements set by state law:
- Be 18 years of age or older
- Be a U.S. citizen or permanent legal resident
- Either reside in Kansas or a bordering state and actively conduct business or be regularly employed in Kansas.
What disqualifies you from being a notary in Kansas?
Unfortunately, if you have been convicted of a felony or had your professional license revoked in the past, Kansas will deny you from becoming an official notary.
How to Apply For a Kansas Notary Commission
- Fill out the Notary Public Appointment Form (notary application)
- You will need to get a notary surety bond for $12,000 from an insurance company that is licensed in Kansas. The surety bond company must fill out the appropriate section on the Notary Public Appointment Form.
- Acquire a notary seal. Along with the Notary Public Appointment Form, include either an impression of the notarial seal or (in case it is a stamp) a scanned copy of the stamp.
- Submit the finished Notary Public Appointment Form, the surety bond, a seal impression, and a $25 application fee to the Kansas Secretary of State’s Office via mail or in person.
- The Secretary of State, upon approving your application, will send a Notary Certificate to your home address. Only after you receive the notary commission certificate certificate should you start notarizing documents.
Is notary training required to become a notary in Kansas?
No. Kansas does not require prospective notaries to complete a training course.
However, it is highly recommended that you familiarize yourself with the ins and outs of being a notary public by taking an online course or reading the Secretary of State’s handbook.
Is a notary exam required to become a notary in Kansas?
No. Kansas does not require applicants to take a notary exam.
Is a surety bond required for a Kansas notary?
Yes. All Kansas notary applicants must obtain a Kansas notary bond for $12,000 from a bonding company licensed in Kansas.
The surety bond protects any persons relying on your notary services against any damages or losses incurred due to negligence or improper performance of official duties.
Is a notary errors and omissions insurance policy required to become a notary in Kansas?
No. Kansas does not require a notary errors and omissions insurance policy; however, it is highly recommended that you obtain one in order to protect yourself from any losses due to negligence or improper performance of official duties.
Do I need to purchase a notary stamp in Kansas?
Yes. Kansas does require all notaries to have a notary seal stamp in order to authenticate documents that are being notarized.
Is a notary journal required in Kansas?
Yes. Kansas notary law requires all notaries to maintain a journal of the documents they have notarized. The journal should contain information about the notarial act, including the name and address of the signer, a description of the document, date and place of notarization, signature of signers, etc.
How much does it cost to become a notary in Kansas?
There is a $25 application feel
The $12,000 notary bond should cost about $50.
As a Kansas Notary Public, you’ll need to purchase some notary supplies. The expense of these items relies on which brands and types you prefer; however, an ordinary rubber stamp should cost between $15-$25. A notarial journal is likely priced from $10-50 dollars. Don’t overlook acquiring pens, sticky notes as well as refilling ink for your official seal while shopping!
How long does it take to become a notary in Kansas?
Becoming a Kansas Notary Public can take up to four weeks, depending on your availability and how long it takes for the Secretary of State to process your application. If approved, you will receive an official certificate, wallet card and Kansas notary public handbook at your home address in no time!
How do I become a Kansas electronic notary?
Electronic notarizations are almost identical to traditional notarizations regarding needing the signer and Notary present for an in-person meeting.
However, these electronic document notarizations use electronic documents in electronic form and electronic signatures and an electronic journal instead of paper forms.
If you have an active notary commission and want to become an electronic Notary yourself, you must complete a state-approved training course, take and pass the exam, acquire a digital certificate, along with submitting your application plus $20 for the information and services fee.
How do I become a remote online notary in Kansas?
For notaries who hold an active commission, registering to perform remote online notarizations is possible. To do so, however, they must complete a course of study and pass the associated exam regarding remote online notarization.
How long is a Kansas notary commission?
A Kansas notary commission is valid for four years from the date of issuance.
How do I renew my notary in Kansas?
Renewing your commission process is identical to applying for a new one.
It’s advisable to begin the renewal procedure at least one month before it expires, according to the Kansas Secretary of State.
Additionally, you should get a Notary seal with an updated expiration date.
How much can a Kansas notary public charge for performing notarial acts?
In the state of Kansas, there is no limit to Notary fees.
However, it’s best to remain reasonable in your charges.
To avoid confusion or misunderstanding, consider informing your signers of the fee structure at the outset, so everyone’s on the same page.
How much money do Kansas notaries public make?
According to ZipRecruiter, the average annual pay of a traditional Kansas notary is $48,358. According to the same site, the average annual pay of a notary who becomes a Notary Signing Agent is $98,418, with the highest being $173,408.1
How do I become a notary signing agent in Kansas?
To become a Notary Signing Agent in Kansas, you must first become a notary and then complete a certified signing agent training program. You must also purchase an Errors & Omissions insurance policy to cover any potential professional liabilities. After you have become a certified signing agent, you can register with companies and work independently as an independent contractor or join a network of notary signing agents.