How to Become a Notary in Nebraska
Are you looking to become a Notary in Nebraska? Becoming a notary can be an enriching career path that allows individuals to help others in their communities and provide essential services. Whether you’re considering becoming a Notary for the first time or renewing your commission, it’s crucial to have all the necessary information before getting started. Keep reading to learn more about getting certified as a notary in Nebraska!
Who can become a Nebraska notary?
To become a Notary in Nebraska, you must meet the following criteria:
- Be at least 19 years of age.
- Be a resident of Nebraska or a resident of a neighboring state regularly employed in Nebraska.
- Not have been convicted of a felony or a crime involving fraud or dishonesty within the past five years.
What is the process to get a notary commission in Nebraska?
- Get the forms you need to become a notary in Nebraska from the Nebraska Secretary of State’s website. You will need the Initial Application for Notary Commission, United States Citizenship Attestation, and Evidence of Employment in Nebraska (only for non-residents) forms.
- The notary applicant must purchase a $15,000 notary bond.
- Complete the application forms.
- Take the notary application and evidence of employment (if needed) forms to a notary public to be notarized.
- Mail the notary application to the Secretary of State with the required documents: (A $15,000 notary bond, The United States Citizenship Attestation Form, A $30 application fee, The Evidence of Employment in Nebraska Form if you are a non-resident).
- The notary test is emailed or mailed from the Secretary of State’s Office. Complete the test and return it.
Is notary training required to become a Nebraska notary public?
No, notary training is not required to become a Nebraska Notary. Still, it’s recommended that all prospective notaries take a course to understand a notary’s duties and responsibilities fully.
Is a notary exam required to become a Nebraska notary public?
To become a Notary Public, you must take and pass the Notary Public Examination with a score of 85% or higher. Don’t worry if you fail to pass on your first try; after 30 days, you may retake it by submitting another application and paying an additional fee.
Is a notary bond required to become a Nebraska notary public?
Yes, all Notaries in Nebraska are required to obtain a $15,000 notary bond in order to become commissioned. The bond protects the public and covers any losses or damages incurred by the Notary’s negligence.
Does a Nebraska notary need errors and omissions insurance?
No, errors and omissions insurance is not required for Nebraska Notaries. However, it is recommended that all Notaries secure this type of insurance to protect themselves from potential liability or negligence claims.
Do Nebraska notaries need to purchase a notary seal?
Yes, all Notaries in Nebraska must have an official notary seal (also known as a notary stamp).
Do Nebraska notaries need to purchase a notary journal?
No, Nebraska Notaries are not required to keep a journal of their notarial acts. However, it is strongly recommended that all Notaries maintain one to document their activities and provide proof of authenticity for future disputes.
Is it hard to become a notary in Nebraska?
No, becoming a Notary in Nebraska is not difficult. As long as you meet the requirements outlined above and can pass the exam with at least an 85%, you should have no problem getting your commission. To ensure success, we recommend taking a notary course or studying your state’s laws and regulations before submitting your application.
How much does it cost to become a Nebraska notary?
A non-refundable fee of $30 is required to submit an application for a Nebraska Notary Public commission.
The $15,000 surety bond should cost about $40.
Investing in a notary stamp will typically cost between $15 and $25, while a notary journal may be priced anywhere from $10 to $50. Moreover, you should purchase extra pens, sticky notes, and ink for your stamp.
What are notaries authorized to do in Nebraska?
In Nebraska, a Notary Public is authorized to perform various notarial acts:
- Take proof of execution and acknowledgments of instruments
- Administer oaths and affirmations
- Attest documents
- Take depositions
- Issue summons and command the presence of witnesses for depositions in civil lawsuits
How long is the term of a notary public commission in Nebraska?
A Nebraska Notary commission is valid for a period of four years.
Can I perform online notarizations in Nebraska?
Notaries who have an active traditional commission can register to become remote online notaries and receive an online notary commission certificate. There are additional requirements to become a remote online notary public, such as having a required journal.
How much can a notary charge in Nebraska?
- Taking an acknowledgment: $5
- Administering an oath or affirmation: $2
- Verifications upon an oath or affirmation: $2
- Taking affidavits: $2
- Each protest: $1; for recording the same: $2
- Each notice of protest: $2
- Each certificate and seal: $5
- Remote online notarization: $25
Can you make money as a notary in Nebraska?
According to ZipRecruiter, the average annual pay of a traditional Florida notary is $50,034. According to the same site, the average annual pay of a notary who becomes a Notary Signing Agent is $97,823, with the highest being $186,322.1
How do I become a notary signing agent in Nebraska?
To become a Notary Signing Agent in Nebraska, you must be an active Notary Public in the state and complete a training program. You must also obtain errors and omissions insurance to protect yourself from potential liability stemming from negligence claims. Additionally, you must be knowledgeable of the documents and procedures related to signing loan documents. Finally, you must register with a Notary Signing Agent network or directory so lenders can find your services.
Once you have done all these things, you will be ready to start accepting assignments and making money as a Notary Signing Agent in Nebraska.
Note that in Nebraska, Loan Signing Agents can only charge the maximum notarial fees plus per-mile travel rates.